Theory Of Nothing

or Just Theory

Microsoft Word’s official stand on footnotes (Codename: Tolerance Level 134)

Remember the unending beginnings and usurping footnotes I was gloating over that day? Well well, the footnotes swelled up to nothing less than 134. Then Microsoft Word hung. When I finally got it repaired, the footnotes were all messed up. Since, I was in the baffling habit of saving over each of the documents, I didn’t have an older copy I could go back to. So I painstakingly spent the day fixing up all 134 footnotes. This explains the hiatus on this blog.

In the meantime, Chapter 1 looks like it’s bloating up to 20,000 words. It was planned for 8,000 words in the beginning, then allowed to grow to 15,000. And now, it looks like it has sneaky plans to overtake the entire 80,000 words dissertation. I’ve downsized from 8 texts to 6 texts and I still have a problem fitting the rest of the 5 texts in together with the monstrously conniving Chapter 1. Maybe I’ll be merciless and excise yet another text. But which one? 2 authors, 5 texts – how do I decide which author is weightier and deserves more texts? This has kept my eyes wide open while lying on my bed for some nights now. This also explains the hiatus on this blog.

Having experienced Microsoft Word’s fallibility, I now allocate substantial periods of paranoia to saving my dissertation as a file document on my MacBook, a separate file document on my portable hard disk, yet another separate file document sent to a secondary email account, and last but not least, a copied and pasted version sent to the same secondary email account which has been set up specially for the above stated purposes. This, once again, explains the hiatus on this blog.

I could go on, but it has occurred to me that this would be a good space to practise concluding in the hope that someday in the near future, I will be able to execute the stop button on the unending beginnings and usurping footnotes that is Chapter 1.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button tom small butt

Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - Posted by | PhD

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

